United Voice is one of Australia’s oldest and largest unions, with a proud progressive history of more than 100 years of making life better for working Australians everywhere.

Jo Schofield, National President

Jo-anne Schofield

Jo-anne Schofield is a committed social justice advocate and trade unionist. She was previously Assistant National Secretary of United Voice having worked for the union for 14 years in a variety of research, industrial and campaigning roles. During this time Jo led the union’s first early childhood education and care campaign and worked with contract cleaners and security members.  With over 20 years’ experience working for trade unions and not for profit organisations, Jo has a particular focus on equality and women’s issues.  She is proud to be working to advance the cause of United Voice members in their workplace and in their communities.

Helen Gibbons, Assistant National Secretary

Helen Gibbons

Helen Gibbons has been a proud member of her union for all her working life. As a United Voice delegate in South Australia, she was involved in the union’s first early childhood education and care campaign and has since organised workers in aged care, disabilities, hotels, cleaning, and casinos, working with them to build better jobs and a powerful voice. Helen is committed to empowering members to stand up, speak out and be heard.

How we make decisions

Members get together in local branches and elect their local branch leadership every four years. Their local branch council meetings help set the agenda and direction of the union as a whole. 

Each branch also works to support members in their workplaces, run innovative, strategic campaigns and engage with political leaders and decision-makers.

United Voice National Council is the national platform for making decisions about the future direction of our union. 

The National Council elects the National Executive, ensuring that members’ voices are heard and vocalised at every level of United Voice.  

United Voice National Council 2014

Visit your branch:

Australian Capital Territory New South Wales Queensland Victoria Tasmania South Australia Northern Territory Western Australia